2021 UACUA Annual Meeting


The Ukrainian American Credit Union Association (UACUA) held its 40th Annual Meeting and Conference September 9-11, 2021 at the Soyuzivka Heritage Center in Kerhonkson, NY.

Thirty five participants representing nine Ukrainian American credit unions in the U.S. gathered to network, hold a conference and annual meeting, attending to Association business and election of 2021-22 officers and committees.

The conference commenced with welcoming remarks by Andrij Horbachevsky, UACUA Chairman.  A Zoom meeting followed between Association members and Ivan Vyshnevskiy, Deputy Chief of Party USAID / Credit for Agriculture Producers Project in Ukraine.  The current status of credit union reform legislation in Ukraine was discussed, and how UACUA could provide its professional support and assistance in such legislation.

A presentation by demographer Oleh Wolowyna, Ph.D. was delivered to the credit union leaders on the changes in the spatial distribution of Ukrainians in the U.S. and the effect of the 4th Wave on this distribution.  Participants were presented with Dr. Wolowyna’s latest publication: Atlas of Ukrainians in the U.S.

 The program concluded with a panel discussion on community engagement in the Ukrainian-American diaspora.  The following organizations participated:

  • CYM – Lesia Harhaj, President, U.S. National Executive Board
  • Plast – Andriy Kozak, Chair, National Board of Directors
  • Razom – Dora Chomiak, President
  • UCCA, UNIS – Michael Sawkiw, Jr., Executive Vice President
  • UNA – Roma Lisovich, Treasurer
  • UNWLA – Natalia Pawlenko, President

On Saturday, September 11th the Association conducted its 40th annual meeting, which included reports by management and various committees.  The election of board officers and committee members for the 2021-2022 term was also held.

UACUA Chairman Andrij Horbachevsky reported on his activities for the past year, and Orysia Burdiak, President, reported on the work of the Association office.

2021 marks the 70th Anniversary of two credit unions: Self Reliance New York Federal Credit Union, and Selfreliance Federal Credit Union headquartered in Chicago, IL.

The following individuals were elected to the 2021-22 UACUA Board of Directors and various committees:

UACUA Officers: Andrij Horbachevsky  Chairman (SUMA Yonkers, NY); Bohdan Kurczak – Vice Chair (Self Reliance New York), George Stachiw – Secretary (Selfreliance New England). Executive Committee members: Vitaliy Kutnyy (Selfreliance Chicago), and Anatoli Murha (Selfreliance Philadelphia)..

Members of the Board of Directors: Peter Charchalis (Self Reliance Baltimore); Olena Danylyuk (Selfreliance Michigan); Motria Hodowanec (Selfreliance Pittsburgh); Esteban Kaczurak (Ukrainian National, NY); Michael Lewko (Nova UA, Clifton, NJ); Orest Liscynesky (Cleveland Selfreliance); Bohdan Zakharchyshyn (Ukrainian, Rochester).

Supervisory Committee: Olena Danylyuk (Selfreliance Michigan); Orest Temnycky (Self Reliance New York); Bohdan Wruskyj (Selfreliance Chicago).

Nominating Committee: Mary Kolodij (Selfreliance Philadelphia); Vitaliy Kutnyy (Selfreliance Chicago);  George Stachiw (Selfreliance New England); Andriy Vygnanski (Selfreliance Michigan); Yaroslav Zaviysky (Ukrainian National, NY).

By-Laws Committee: Roman Kozicky (SUMA Yonkers, NY); Roman Petyk (Selfreliance Philadelphia), Nusia Woch-Kerda (Self Reliance Baltimore).

Orysia Burdiak was elected President of the Association.

Respectfully submitted,
Orysia Burdiak, UACUA President

By | 2021-11-05T22:07:53-05:00 November 5th, 2021|UNCUA Annual Meeting|Comments Off on 2021 UACUA Annual Meeting

About the Author: